CPS 296.2: Spring 1997

Advanced Topics in Artificial Intelligence

Schedule:
Date Topic Reading [Focus]
Fri Jan 17 Introduction & Administrivia -
Mon Jan 20 Agents Ch. 1, Ch. 2 [2.3, 2.4]
Wed Jan 22 Searching for Planning Ch. 3 [3.3]
Fri Jan 24 Search Methods Ch. 3 [3.5]
Mon Jan 27 Informed Search Ch. 4 [4.1, 4.2, 4.4]
Wed Jan 29 Logic - GSAT Ch. 6 [6.2, prob. 6.15], was ftp://ftp.research.att.com/dist/ai/ai-phys.ps.Z, handout
Fri Jan 31 Situation Calculus Ch. 7 [7.4, 7.5, 7.6, 7.9]
Mon Feb 3 STRIPS Planning Representation Ch. 11 [11.2, 11.4, 11.8]
Wed Feb 5 Partial Order Planning Ch. 11 [11.5, 11.6]
Fri Feb 7 Alternate Approaches to Planning handout: GraphPlan, was http://www.research.att.com:80/~kautz/papers-ftp/plan.ps, PlanSAT
Mon Feb 10 Planning via Trees (guest lecture) -
Wed Feb 12 Conditional Planning and Nondeterminism Ch. 13 [13.1, 13.2]
Fri Feb 14 Partially Observable Domains I optional handout
Mon Feb 17 Review/Slack Day -
Wed Feb 19 Exam 1: Deterministic Domains
Fri Feb 21 Project Discussion handout
Mon Feb 24 Probability Ch. 14 [14.1]
Wed Feb 26 Belief Nets Ch. 15 [15.1, 15.2]
Fri Feb 28 Inference in Belief Nets Ch. 15 [15.3]
Mon Mar 3 Vision 1 (guest lecture) Ch. 24
Wed Mar 5 Vision 2 (guest lecture) Ch. 24
Fri Mar 7 Speech Ch. 24 [24.7]
Mon Mar 10 Sequential Decision Problems Ch. 17 [17.1]
Wed Mar 12 Algorithms for Sequential Decision Problems Ch. 17 [17.2,17.3]
Fri Mar 14 Dynamic Belief Nets Ch. 17 [17.5]
Mon Mar 17 Spring Break
Wed Mar 19
Fri Mar 21
Mon Mar 24 Supervised learning (guest lecture) Ch. 19 [19.3]
Wed Mar 26 Supervised learning (guest lecture) Ch. 19 [19.4]
Fri Mar 28 Learning in Belief Nets Ch. 19 [19.6]
Mon Mar 31 Reinforcement Learning Ch. 20 [20.2]
Wed Apr 2 Reinforcement Learning for Control Ch. 20 [20.5, 20.6]
Fri Apr 4 Value Function Approximation Ch. 20 [20.7], handout
Mon Apr 7 Structured MDPs handouts: was http://www.cs.ubc.ca/spider/cebly/Papers/spi.ps, exact, and http://www.cs.ubc.ca/spider/cebly/Papers/_download_/pruning.ps, approx
Wed Apr 9 Searching in Policy Space: POP Ch. 20 [20.8], handout
Fri Apr 11 Searching in Policy Space: GP Ch. 20 [20.8], was: http://www.cs.gmu.edu/research/gag/papers/icga95.ps
Mon Apr 14 Partially Observable Domains II/Review handout
Wed Apr 16 Exam 2: Stochastic Domains
Fri Apr 18 Natural Language Applications Ch. 23 [23.1]
Mon Apr 21 Internet Agents (guest) handouts: taxonomy, engrng
Wed Apr 23 Robot Architectures Ch. 25 [25.4]
Fri Apr 25 Navigation and Path Planning Ch. 25 [25.6]
Mon Apr 28 Project Presentations
Wed Apr 30
May 9th Final Exam (9am)

Michael Littman
Last modified: Fri Apr 25 16:56:01 EDT 1997