Department of Computer Science

The Computer Science Department at Rutgers University offers Bachelor, Master, and PhD degrees in computer science.

At present, there are 33 full-time faculty members in the New Brunswick Department of Computer Science. Faculty research interests include algorithms, artificial intelligence (with applications to design, genetics, law and medicine), bioinformatics, combinatorics, complexity theory, computational geometry, data bases and database mining, data structures, machine learning, mathematical programming, mobile and distributed computing, natural language processing, networking, numerical analysis, optimization, parallel computation, programming language and software engineering, and computer vision.

There are about 40 active and funded research projects in effect presently. The aggregate support for these projects currently exceeds $6 million/year.

Major Funded Research Projects

The Department of Computer Science is comprised of an active research/teaching faculty with diverse research interests. The research projects vary in size and content. The largest proposals include the Research on Hypercomputing and Design which is supported by ARPA ($12 over 4 years) with Saul Amarel and Louis Steinberg as co-principal investigators; Research on DataMan Project: Information Services for Low-Powered, Wireless Mobile Clients is supported by DoD/ARPA ($1.6 million over 3 years) with Tomasz Imielinski and B.R. Badrinath as co-principal investigators; Rutgers Knowledge-Based Biomedical Imaging Project is supported by PHHS/NIN ($1.2 million over 3 years) with Casimir Kulikowski and Robert Mezrich as co-principal investigators.

There are a number of faculty who have multiple funded projects. Barbera Ryder is the principal investigator of five individually funded research projects (totalling over $900,000 ). These projects include Data Flow Analysis of C++ Systems, which is funded by Siemens Corporate Research and Scalable Static Techniques for Exhaustive & Incrimental Analysis of C Systems (with co-PI William Landi, Siemens Corporate Research), which funded by the NSF. Tomasz Imielinski is the principal investigator for two NSF funded research projects (totalling $752,000): A Query-Based Approach to Database Mining, in which Haym Hirsh is the co-principal investigator and Designing Wireless Information Services in which B.R. Badrinath is the co-principal investigator.

Another major highlight concerns Dr. Martin Farach who is the recipient of the prestigious Sloan Fellowship (1996-98). Only 10 such awards are given each year in the area of computer science.